top of page

County Council District 5 Special Election is Today

Daniel Prince

Gerald Eaves or Carolyn Rutherford will fill Tommie Hill's unexpired term

For voters in County Council District 5, today is the day to cast your ballots in the Union County Council District 5 special election. Republican Gerald Eaves and Democrat Carolyn Rutherford face each other for the seat formerly held by the late Tommie Hill. County Council District 5 is comprised of all or some of the voters from the Excelsior, Monarch, and city precincts, which are Ward 1 Box 1, Ward 1 Box 2, Ward 2, Ward 3, Ward 4 Box 1, and Ward 4 Box 2. As a reminder, the two Monarch precincts have been combined into a single precinct, with all Monarch voters going to Bethel United Methodist Church to cast their ballots. Ward 1 Box 1’s polling place changed recently, as well. Voters will cast their ballots at Lakeside Baptist Church instead of Foster Park Elementary School. Signs will be posted at the old polling places informing voters of the new place to go. If you are unsure which precinct you are in or if you are a part of County Council District 5, you can look it up online at or call the Union County Election Commission at 429-1616.

no audio
00:00 / 01:04
bottom of page